Sense and smellitivity

Today's daily prompt

Today’s daily prompt

What if I gave up my vision for an enhanced sense of smell? Maybe like Winnie in Hotel Transylvania, I’d be able to solve crimes in one sniff. Snifflock Holmes at your service. (Can’t tell if your husband is cheating on you? No sweat, just let me smell the truth/lies off him.)

Winnie from Hotel Transylvania

On the other hand, many songs would be inappropriate for me to sing. Oh well, I’d just have to rewrite the lyrics in that case. For example:

I Can See Smell Clearly Now – Johnny Nash
I can smell clearly now, the rain is gone,
I can smell all obstacles in my way
Gone are the dark clouds that had me anosmic
It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
Sun-Shiny day.


Hungry Eyes Nose – Eric Carmen
I’ve been meaning to tell you
I’ve got this feelin’ that won’t subside
I smell you and I fantasize
You’re mine tonight
Now I’ve got you in my nose

With this hungry nose
One whiff of you and I can’t disguise
I’ve got a hungry nose
I feel the magic between you and I


Can’t Take My Eyes Nose Off You – Frankie Valli
You’re just too good to be true
Can’t take my nose off of you
You’d be like heaven to touch
I wanna hold you so much
At long last love has arrived
And I thank God I’m alive
You’re just too good to be true
Can’t take my nose off of you

Pardon the way that I smell
There’s nothing else to compare
The smell of you leaves me weak
There are no words left to speak
So if you feel like I feel
Please let me know that it’s real
You’re just too good to be true
Can’t take my nose off of you

Err… and love songs would never be love songs again.

One thought on “Sense and smellitivity

  1. Pingback: Senseless | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

