Five stages of (public speaking) grief

Today's daily prompt

Today’s daily prompt

To be honest, the idea of public speaking doesn’t make me want to hide in the bathroom. It makes me want to THROW UP in the bathroom.

There are five stages I go through when I’m asked to speak in public:

FIRST STAGE – Confusion

SECOND STAGE – Denial

THIRD STAGE – Bargaining

FOURTH STAGE – Depression

FIFTH STAGE – Acceptance

Compared to a few months ago, I can easily have a conversation with a person I’ve only just met. I’m learning to not take life so seriously.

I’ve always been somewhat shy when it comes to talking to people I don’t know too well (unless I’m drunk). I cared too much about what people thought of me, whether I was saying the right thing, whether I sounded stupid to them. Now, I’ve learned not to worry too much about what people think of me, mostly because it shouldn’t even matter in the first place. Even if I do or say something embarrassing, I get over it very soon or just laugh it off (after an hour or so -_-).

Speaking in public, is a whole different thing for me though. The ‘imagine your audience naked’ thing always seems to slip my mind when I’m in panic mode.

Well, it’s something I’m actively working to overcome.  Along with my awkwardness that comes when I meet the cute guy who lives in the apartment downstairs.

3 thoughts on “Five stages of (public speaking) grief

  1. Pingback: Leader, alright | The Otter in my Jotter

Leave a Reply

