Look on the bright side

Today's daily prompt

Today’s daily prompt

I’ve always envied people who could draw from imagination.

Remember carbon paper?? It was one of my best friends in school – till I ran out of it. (Yes, this is a confession. And no, I wasn’t that lonely.)

You’d be so proud of me, Johnny.

Once in fourth grade, I drew a whole comic strip (err, only two pages long) about two robots. Why robots, you ask? Because I can’t draw humans and I certainly can’t draw animals.*

The comic strip was horrible (and not comic at all) and unfortunately, ahem, fortunately, I threw out the book that contained it by mistake.

I love reading comics and cartoons (like zenpencils.com), but sadly, drawing isn’t meant for me.

There’s websites that give crash courses in drawing. But it’s not something I want to learn. It’s something I want to do.

Then again, there’s things I can do that others wish they could. Like sing and play the piano (you know, the usual C, F, A minor and G chords while occasionally surprising myself with a B minor).

So, I’m going to stop wishing and go play my rusty piano now.

Beans on my piano

Beans on my piano

Okay, not now. Tomorrow.

“I have no particular talent. I am merely inquisitive.”

― Albert Einstein

*Ironically, the otter in this jotter was drawn by me.

7 thoughts on “Look on the bright side

  1. Thank you for the quote and the link! I’m so glad to know I’m not the only person who wants to do something without the tedium of learning first.

    I enjoyed your blogpost today. Thank you.

  2. Am glad you liked the post! Though, I’m pretty sure we’re not the only ones who’d want to do something without learning first. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Talent I Don’t Have :/ | The Arkside of Thought

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Talents | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Do I really wish for talent? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

