Man! I feel like a woman

Today's daily prompt

Today’s daily prompt

Till a few years ago when I was in college, I’d dress like a boy.

I’m short and skinny and have always had the hardest time finding clothes my size. I remember this pair of trousers I’d bought in ninth grade – they were a (women’s) size 4. And I’ve been a size 0 or -2 since the sixth grade!* I’d wear those trousers with my favourite super-loose hoody all the time. My brother even nicknamed me Eminem.

I looked something like this most of the time. With smaller shoes, of course.

In the summer of 2009, I found jeans my size (your cue to clap). That solved the pants problem. I was still wearing baggy t-shirts. Must add that I didn’t really care what I looked like (but you may have figured that out already). Also, I was a bit of a tomboy. Am. Am a bit of a tomboy, I mean.

Turns out, I was looking for clothes in the wrong stores. Umm.. and sections. Actually, I wasn’t looking at all.

Realisation came only after I started earning. Only after I actually went shopping for normal clothes to wear. Or just shopping, period. And then I was all:

owman

Now, I love buying new clothes (occasionally, in the H&M kids section too). I never have enough clothes to wear.

I wouldn’t consider myself fashion-conscious and don’t have a particular style, per say. I mostly try to dress in comfortable and appropriate clothes that make me feel good.

But sometimes, like if I have to go down to the grocery that’s just two minutes away from home, I really don’t bother too much.

I just pray that I don’t meet anyone I know. And that hasn’t happened so far, phew.

*I’ve gotten myself checked. I’m just a small person. That’s all.

**And in case you’re confused, I’m female.

5 thoughts on “Man! I feel like a woman

  1. Pingback: Why do I look so good? | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: How important are clothes to you? | Processing the life

  3. Pingback: Overdress Or Underdress | Anchors Aweigh

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: How to Feel Like a Princess | mycookinglifebypatty

Leave a Reply

