22

No, that’s neither how old I am nor is it my favourite song.

That’s how many days my blog’s been up and running! Three weeks, yo.

Quite a big deal for me, mainly because I’ve posted or attempted to post every single day.

All thanks to my friend who inspired me to challenge myself to do this, when she told me that when you do something 21 days in a row, it becomes a habit. May not be true, but it’s led to this. And in turn, I inspired her to start posting on her blog again.

Now, I’m not a very patient person. I’d love to have 500 followers overnight, but when I think of all the writing and years that may take to actually gain that many followers, I’d rather just watch all five seasons of Breaking Bad another five times. (I may have a weird obsession with the number five. Also, I tend to exaggerate a bit.)

I had a few blogs before this one, but each had about two posts. I like to write, I want to write. Just don’t know what to write about. Then I discovered WordPress’ The Daily Post. And thank you, WordPress, for that.

This blog has become my baby. Sometimes, I open it up and stare at it. My boss sits right next to me and has the habit of peeping into my computer screen every few minutes (not exaggerating here). The second she walks out, I open up my blog and stare at it.

I’m weird like that.

What makes the blogging so worth it, is the people who take the time to read. I have only two friends who know about this blog and read it regularly (or so I’d like to think). And then, there’s a whole bunch of people I don’t even know, who read my blog. Like whaaaa??

Getting ‘like’ notifications are like people prodding you just to tell you how interesting you are. That to me is AWESOME. (You can prod me all you want to tell me you find me interesting.) Then I feel all warm and mushy inside, and blush to myself. And really, it makes me want to write more.

I’m super happy to be part of my newfound WordPress family. It’s like we’re all helping and inspiring each other at the same time.

I may not post every single day after this, but I definitely won’t give this up.

And on this occasion, I’d like to dedicate a song to my blog.

Hmm.. that wasn’t very appropriate. I probably should figure out the relationship I have with my blog.

But I’ve been playing the song on loop for the past week and thought I’d share it with all of you. Have a great weekend y’all!

6 thoughts on “22

  1. My blog is about exactly the same age as yours and I understand what you mean. I keep thinking about that thing you said about doing things a cheating number of times and it becomes habit…I’m such a creature of habit and have now started stopping doing things before that many times as I don’t need anymore habits 🙂

    • Oh, this is the first time I’ve been this committed to something (yea, I can be pretty useless). I can’t really call blogging a habit yet, but it does make me happy. My next mission is to exercise every day for three weeks, and if that doesn’t become a habit, oh well… at least I tried. 🙂 The big question is, when will that mission begin : O

      • Hmm.. I’m not sure, but my list includes baking (after having recently baked cheesecake mush instead of cheesecake) and learning at least one new language before the end of the year. Crap, that’s too soon. Let’s make it, the end of next year then. 🙂

  2. When I read the post name, The first thing that came to my mind was that its going to be Tylor Swift’s 22. But I was wrong.
    Happy blogging by the way. As long as you are doing the good work, you’ll eventually build a following and meet great people 🙂

    • Thanks for the kind words. And yes, I’ve been lucky to meet great people like you! That’s what encourages me to write more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

