Please get off my bed

Happiness is…. not sharing a bed!

We had relatives over the last two nights. In other words, I had to share my bed with my cousin. Not for one night, TWO nights.

Now, I can be very fussy about ‘my space’. In queues, I hate when people stand so close to me, so close that I can feel their various body parts. No ma’am, it’s not okay for you to be this close to me even though you’re a woman. And no, I don’t want to be harassed by your boobs.

Same with MY bed. I’m not a sleep-fighter (read: a person who kicks around in his sleep). I often wake up with a numb arm or leg from sleeping too long in one position.

Life was good when I got my single bed replaced with this ‘princessy’ queen-sized bed. What I didn’t realise till two days ago is that…. I’d be expected to share my bed with sleep-fighter cousins. Not cool.

Okay, I lied. I'm not that tall.

Okay, I lied. I’m not that tall.

My bed is MY bed. It’s what I miss most when I force myself to get off it every morning. It’s what I run back to, when I get back home.

I love my bed so much, that I’m starting to tear up as I type this. Though, that’s probably from no sleep and all the bruises my cousin gave me last night.

True story

And now I’m all sleepy and grumpy. And I’ve got work tomorrow.
Early night for me tonight, while I fall asleep to my favourite new discovery, The Bed and… I mean, The Head and the Heart’s Another Story.

Have a good weekend, rest-of-the-world!

15 thoughts on “Please get off my bed

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Away Sweet Away | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Psst…I Need Your Help? | Cheri Speak

  3. I hate having to share a bed – even if it’s family or friends. I didn’t mind so much when I was quite a bit younger- but as far as I’m concerned now, it’s my private space. And if I have not enough room in this small house, I will be gracious and invite the visitor to sleep there – but I won’t. I’ll take the couch or floor.

    Hope you have a good night’s sleep and feel rested in the morning. 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Hills are Alive… | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | DeafGuy Blog

  7. Pingback: A quiet day at home | The Silver Leaf Journal

  8. Pingback: What’s to miss when I’m gone? | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Home Sweet Home | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Processing the life

Leave a Reply

