Night Bird or… Early Owl?

I’ve always been a bit of both, an early bird and a night owl.

Okay, okay, more of a night owl. But, an early bird on days of school outings and most weekends*.

Nothing has changed. I’m lucky to have a job that starts at 9am unlike most jobs here that start at 8am. What difference does an hour make, you ask? Well, it makes a big fat difference to ME.

I would love to wake up at 6am, except I don’t. I don’t want to say I can’t, because I very well can. So yes, I’m going to admit to you all that I don’t have the will power to wake up at 6am. Or even 7am for that matter.

I never fail to set my alarms the previous night, that start from 6.24am to 7.56am. I usually end up waking up around 7.41am.

*Yesterday, I woke up at 6.30am feeling as fresh as a daisy only to realise two minutes later, that it was Saturday. A HOLIDAY. So what did I do? No points for guessing.

Nope, that isn’t me. I never look like that in bed.

That’s right. I went back to sleep.

That’s more like it.

I’ve spent hours reading articles on ways to wake up early, have even done things like keep my alarm in the cupboard across the room. Lock the cupboard that the alarm is kept in and store the keys in another cupboard.

No, not even that worked.

What do I have to do to wake up at 6am just once? On a weekday, that is.

EARLY

– Michael Scott

4 thoughts on “Night Bird or… Early Owl?

  1. I have the same problem! Or at least sort of.. My alarm sometimes just go on.. and on… and on.. and it just doesn’t want to shut up until i realise that I keep on pressing the wrong button. And then I’m very confused when I wake up. Sometimes I even allocate a transaction number or premium to the alarm! Hmmm… must learn to switch off after work! But I must also admit that I usually don’t feel that tired at night until I just decide to go to bed and almost a centimeter before my head hits the pillow, I’m out. They say it’s the ADHD in my case that prevents me from realising that I’m tired. The older I get the more easily it occurs to me that it’s bedtime around 12 PM.. Anyway.. Thanks for sharing! Makes me feel a whole lot better to know that I’m not the only one struggling to fit into the rest of the world’s bio-clock! God bless!

    • Haa, I press the wrong button too sometimes, and other times I just sleep through five alarms. Before I go to bed, I try and make a mental list of things to do the next morning to motivate me to wake up early, but who am I kidding? Even if I’ve had something really really important to do and didn’t do the evening before because I was just too tired, nothing matters in the morning. 6 hours of sleep, 8 hours of sleep, even 10 hours of sleep – all the same to me, ie, I can NOT wake up as early as I would like to. In the morning, at least.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. Pingback: The golden hour… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. I wasn’t like this before but lately(by lately I mean since 6 months) , This has been happening to me. I’m famous in my family as the one who has supernatural control on sleep. But for some reason I’m not able to wake up by choice.
    Loved the post ! ❤

Leave a Reply

